About the NCCBA

The North Carolina Children's Book Award (NCCBA) is sponsored by the North Carolina School Library Media Association and the Youth Services Section of the North Carolina Library Association. Since 1992, North Carolina's school children have nominated their favorite books published within the past three years.  Members of the NCCBA committee select 10-12 titles from the nominated books in two categories, picture books and junior books.  During the course of the year, classroom teachers, media specialists and public librarians encourage children to become familiar with the nominees and vote for their favorite titles in March. The award is truly a children's book award - selected by the children of the state of North Carolina!

NCCBA Guidelines

Thank you to the many public and school librarians and teachers from all over the state who make the work of the North Carolina Children’s Book Award program possible.  Public librarians and school librarians work together gathering nominations, promoting the program, reading the books to children, sharing related activities with children, and sponsoring the voting for the North Carolina Children’s Book Award program each year.  Each of you encourages students to read the nominated books and to participate in the Book Award Program.  It is your support and involvement in the program that guarantees its continuation and success.

For information about joining the NCCBA Committee, please contact one of the co-chairs listed below.  New members are considered in September.

North Carolina Children's Book Award Committee Co-Chairs
Lisa Foster England
Winston Salem Forsyth County Schools
Frank Morgan Elementary
3210 Village Point Drive
Clemmons, NC 27102
email: lengland@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Janet West
Public Librarian
Wake County Public Libraries
Fuquay-Varina Community Library
133 S. Fuquay Avenue
Fuquay-Varina, NC  27526
email: janet.west@wakegov.com


Author Contact and Award Coordinator

Michelle Burton  (Spring Valley Elementary School, Durham)
Kelly Cehelnik  (Union County Public Library, Monroe)
Lisa Denning   (North Harnett Primary School, Angier)
Shana Dols   (Waddell Language Academy, Charlotte)
Jesse Figuera  (Buncombe County Public Libraries, Asheville)
Amber Hargett  (Neuse Regional Library System, Kinston)
Tammy Hill   (Walnut Cove Elementary School, Walnut Cove)
Stephanie Howell   (Carolina Day School, Asheville)
Lara Luck   (Forsyth County Public Library, Winston-Salem)
Melissa Mann   (Hillcrest Elementary School, Burlington)
Larisa Martin   (Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library, Charlotte)
Lea McDaniel   (Retired School Librarian, Charlotte)
Jacky Miller   (Rockingham County Public Library, Eden)
Wendy Moorehead   (Boone Trail Elementary School, Lillington)
Pat Moussa  (Wake County Public Libraries, Cary)
Wendy Shoaf   (Walkertown Elementary School, Walkertown)
Meg Smith   (Cumberland County Public Library & Information Center, Fayetteville)
Vicki Stanfield  (Retired School Librarian, Winston-Salem)