Barbara O'Connor, Jory John and Bob Shea Accept 2018 awards

Congratulations to our 2018 award winners!  Barbara O'Connor was able to accept her award in person at the North Carolina School Library Media Association's annual conference on October 4th.  Ms. O'Connor won the Junior Book award for Wish.

Barbara O'Connor with co-chair Lisa England (2018 Media Coordinator of the Year!)

Barbara O'Connor (center) with committee members Lisa Denning, Wendy Moorehead, Deb Schultz-Fidali, and Lisa England

Picture Book award winners Jory John (author) and Bob Shea (illustrator) of Quit Calling Me a Monster were not able to attend the conference but each submitted an acceptance video which you can watch from the links below.

Bob Shea's acceptance video

Jory John's acceptance video

Bob Shea also created a special painting of his character from Quit Calling Me a Monster, Floyd Peterson, and donated it to NCSLMA as a give-away at the conference.  The lucky winner is pictured below with Mr. Peterson.

Don't forget that we will start to collect nominations for the 2020 award on November 1 (which is just around the corner!)  The nominations link will be open through the end of March 2019 so get your students thinking about their favorite books published since 2016!