About the NCCBA

The North Carolina Children's Book Award (NCCBA) is sponsored by the Youth Services Section of the North Carolina Library Association. Since 1992, North Carolina's school children have nominated their favorite books published within the past three years.  Members of the NCCBA committee select 10-12 titles from the nominated books in two categories, picture books and junior books.  During the course of the year, classroom teachers, media specialists and public librarians encourage children to become familiar with the nominees and vote for their favorite titles in March. The award is truly a children's book award - selected by the children of the state of North Carolina!

Thank you to the many public and school librarians and teachers from all over the state who make the work of the North Carolina Children’s Book Award program possible.  Public librarians and school librarians work together gathering nominations, promoting the program, reading the books to children, sharing related activities with children, and sponsoring the voting for the North Carolina Children’s Book Award program each year.  Each of you encourages students to read the nominated books and to participate in the Book Award Program.  It is your support and involvement in the program that guarantees its continuation and success.

For information about joining the NCCBA Committee, please contact one of the co-chairs listed below.  New members are considered in July-September.

North Carolina Children's Book Award Committee Co-Chairs
School Library Co-chairs
Lisa Denning
Harnett County Schools
North Harnett Primary
282 North Harnett School Road
Angier, NC 27501

Wendy Moorehead
Harnett County Schools
Western Harnett High School
10637 NC-27
Lillington, NC 27546

Past School Library Co-chair
Lisa Foster England, retired from Frank Morgan Elementary
Public Library Co-chair
Janet West
Wake County Public Libraries
Fuquay-Varina Community Library
271 Bramblehill Drive
Fuquay-Varina, NC  27526
email: janet.west@wakegov.com
Public Library Co-chair elect

A special thanks to the following librarians for their efforts to attend the selection meeting, manage the year-long business of the committee, and write activities for the activity booklet.

Lynn Blankenship (Hall-Woodward Elementary School, Winston-Salem)
Bridget Bloomer (Teacher-Librarian, Lumberton)
Michelle Burton  (Spring Valley Elementary School, Durham)
Kelly Cehelnik  (Teacher-Librarian, Monroe)
Jen Dickenson (Polk County Public Library, Columbus)
Ashlin Edmisten (Ashe County Public Library, West Jefferson)
Stephanie Edwards  (Wayne County Public Library, Mt. Olive)
Cadetrus Fikes  (Ben Martin Elementary School, Fayetteville)
Ashley Greene  (West Marion Elementary School, Marion)
Amber Hargett  (Neuse Regional Library System, Kinston)
Jessica Hathcock  (Landis Elementary School, Landis)
Tammy Hill   (Retired School Librarian, Walnut Cove)
Stephanie Howell   (Carolina Day School, Asheville)
Alison Hurley  (Hampton Primary School, Fort Bragg)
Autumn Landers (Harnett County Public Library, Lillington) 
Lisa Lanier (Buies Creek Elementary School, Buies Creek)
Lara Luck   (Forsyth County Public Library, Winston-Salem)
Melissa Mann   (Hillcrest Elementary School, Burlington)
Larisa Martin   (Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library, Charlotte)
Heather McCutchen  (Clemmons Elementary, Clemmons) 
Lisa Raynor (Boone Trail Elementary, Lillington)
John Russell (Lincoln County Public Library, Lincolnton)
Christie Scott (Wake County Public Libraries, Raleigh)
Sarah Sherfey (Catawba County Library, Hickory)
Wendy Shoaf   (Walkertown Elementary School, Walkertown)
Julie Sloup (Virginia Williams Elementary School, Bolivia)

Author Contact and Award Coordinator - vacant